Ukip leadership election 2017 result


HENRY Bolton has become UKIP’S new leader in a shock result beating front-runners Peter Whittle and Anne Marie Waters,

Deputy leader Whittle and far-right candidate Waters were the bookies’ favourites ahead of the announcement – with Bolton’s win stunning Westminster.

 The new Ukip leader will be revealed this evening at the party conference

PA:Press Association

The new Ukip leader will be revealed this evening at the party conference

What was the Ukip leadership election result?

Bolton, a former Army officer and cop, surprised political commentators by winning the Ukip leadership with 3,874 votes.

Waters, whose potential election had threatened to destroy Ukip, with many MEPs and members warning they would quit were she to win, finished second with 2,755 votes.

Speaking after his shock victory Bolton, who once stood for the Liberal Democrats, told the audience at the party’s annual conference in Torquay: “While Brexit is our core task, that greater goals, which is ongoing beyond the time that we leave the EU, that is our core purpose.”

Bolton, 54, was supported in the contest by former leader Nigel Farage. Mr Farage said: “I am delighted @_HenryBolton has won the UKIP leadership election. He is a man of real substance.”

David Kuerten finished in third place with 2,201 votes with John Rhys Evans coming fourth on 2,021.

Whittle – a former candidate for London Mayor and the deputy leader of the party – finished a surprise fifth with 1,413.

 Henry Bolton was the surprise winner of Ukip's leadership election this afternoon


Henry Bolton was the surprise winner of Ukip’s leadership election this afternoon

 Who were the candidates?

Seven candidates initially stood in the race to lead Ukip:

  • Anne Marie Waters – Far-right activist and Director of Sharia Watch UK. Former leader Paul Nuttall barred Waters from standing in the 2017 General Election saying her views were “way above and beyond party policy”.
  • Peter Whittle – Ukip’s deputy leader and London Assembly member. Whittle pushed for the party’s policy to ban the burqa but has spoken against extremist elements joining Ukip.
  • Henry Bolton – Former cop who stood to be Kent Police Crime Commissioner candidate. Bolton said he wanted to “resume Nigel Farage’s legacy by restoring UKIP’s relevance and authority”
  • Jane Collins – MEP for Yorkshire and Humber who describes herself as a “progressive libertarian”. Several candidates dropped out of the race early in the leadership contest to back Collins in a bid to stop Waters.
  • John Rees-Evans – Former parliamentary candidate who proposed  paying dual-nationals up to £9,000 to leave the UK.
  • David Kurten – London Assembly member who was slammed for comparing homosexuality to child abuse.
  • Aidan Powlesland – Former parliamentary candidate who campaigned on a policy of developing spacecraft to allow humans to mine the asteroid belt.
 Ukip deputy leader Peter Whittle has been placed in second place by bookmakers

Richard Pohle – The Times

Ukip deputy leader Peter Whittle has been placed in second place by bookmakers
UKIP leader Paul Nuttall resigns after party decimated in General Election



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here