ODOT crews recognized for workplace safety | News


At the Monday, June 4, meeting, members of the Oklahoma Transportation Commission and ODOT Executive Director Mike Patterson recognized the crews who demonstrated a continued commitment to safety in the past year.

The Director’s Safety Awards are presented to the unit in each of ODOT’s eight field divisions and its Oklahoma City headquarters with the best safety record. Consideration is given to safety, housekeeping, training and equipment maintenance.

The winners for 2017 are: Division 1, Cherokee County Maintenance; Division 2, Choctaw County Maintenance; Division 3, Okfuskee County Maintenance; Division 4, Perry Residency; Division 5, Division Bridge Crew; Division 6, Woods County Maintenance; Division 7, Cotton County Maintenance; Division 8, Pawnee County Maintenance; and Division 9/OKC Headquarters, Local Government Division.

Safety and teamwork in highway work zones are critical to seeing that each worker makes it home at the end of the day. The men and women of the Oklahoma Department of Transportation work in all conditions and put their lives on the line to help construct and maintain our state’s highways, interstates and bridges.

Safety is ODOT’s top priority and the agency conducts onsite reviews, accident followup and ongoing safety education as part of its worker safety program. The total number of employee injury accidents has declined by more than 41 percent in the past year.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here